Senate is a collegial body of the University, which consists of 56 members. Its members are: the Rector as the Chairman, Pro-Rectors, Deans of Faculties, elected representatives of academic and non-academic staff, students and Phd students. The Chancellor, the Quaestor, the University's Librarian and representatives of trade unions also take part in the Senate's sessions.

The Senate of the University is responsible for inter alia: approval of the Statute, Rules and Regulations for students of all cycles of study and post-graduate programmes, admission requirements, adoption of the University development strategy and determining main lines of activity, setting rules and principles of University's operation and issuing instructions for PUT Faculties' Councils regarding exercising the University's statutory duties, establishing framework principles of educational programmes, assessment of the University performance, periodic evaluation of the Faculties' operation, passing resolutions on conferring doctor honoris causa title, approval of assets and financial plan of the University, acceptance of its financial statement.